Where I Work: Coffee House Culture

Jul112011

Where I Work:  Coffee House Culture

Diana and son Paul working at the Novel Cafe (212 Pier)
My workspace is – a coffeehouse!  Yes, an old-fashioned bohemian bookstore/cafe, formerly named The Novel Cafe, though recently changed to 212 Pier.  For the last 20 years my husband Peter (a poet), my son Paul (a story analyst, now studying for his MLS) and I, writer and story analyst, have done an enormous amount of our reading and writing at this homely (in the English sense) cafe.  Open 24 hours, with free wifi, the writer or student can set up his laptop and work as late as he chooses.  And we do.  The family who stays up late drinking cappuccino at adjacent coffeehouse tables, is both productive and jolly, as we can testify!
Back in the ’90s…husband Peter, film critic friend Andy Klein, and Diana at her work station at the Novel
A Coffeehouse (by Pat Nicolle)
We may be former New York bohos, transplanted to California, but our cafe denizenship actually comes from a long English tradition.  For in Jane
Austen’s day, coffeehouses were an important component of London social life.  Mostly for men, it is true, but the coffee, newspapers, cameraderie and gossip must still have borne some relation to the coffeehouse life today.  Though people now tend to be writing screenplays instead of poetic epics.
Lloyd’s Coffee House, London
One of the most famous coffee establishments at the height of the age of coffee houses in the 17th century was Will’s in Russell Street, known as the Coffee House of the Wit’s, and frequented by John Dryden, Pope, Addison, Congreve.  At this time two thousand coffee houses existed in London!  I don’t know if there are as many real ones (not counting chains) even today.
A London Coffee House in the 17th century
By the mid-18th century the Bedford Coffee House was the “in” place for the literati, patronized by Fielding, Hogarth, Goldsmith and Garrick.  A contemporary journal reported that the Bedford “is every night crowded with men of parts. Almost everyone you meet is a polite scholar and a wit. Jokes and bon mots are echoed from box to box; every branch of literature is critically examined, and the merit of every production of the press, or performance at the theatres, weighed and determined.”

And here is our Jane Austen connection.  Although the Bedford, by Austen’s day, was a raffish theatrical coffeehouse of not the best reputation, it sheds interesting light on the lives led by both John Thorpe and General Tilney, who were both habituees of the place.  In Northanger Abbey, John Thorpe tells Catherine about the General:

“Know him! There are few people much about town that I do not know. I havemet him forever at the Bedford; and I knew his face again today the moment he came into the billiard–room. One of the best players we have, by the by; and we had a little touch together, though I was almost afraid of him at first: the odds were five to four against me; and, if I had not made one of the cleanest strokes that perhaps ever was made in this world — I took his ball exactly — but I could not make you understand it without a table; however, I did beat him. A very fine fellow; as rich as a Jew.”

The Turk’s Coffee House, Cambridge

I will conclude with a few pictures of my own coffee house work place.  Location:  Santa Monica, California.  Time:  Timeless.

Of course I do a lot of my writing and reading for Warner Bros at home, too, and could show that workplace as well; but that would be another post, heavily involving cats…

Diana Birchall

Diana is the author of the Jane Austen sequels Mrs. Darcy’s Dilemma and Mrs. Elton in America, the Austen-related plays You are Passionate, Jane, and The Austen Assizes (co-written with Syrie James), and much other Austenesque writing.  She has also written the biography of her grandmother, Onoto Watanna, the first Asian American novelist.  Diana works as a Story Analyst at Warner Bros Studios.  Originally from New York City, she now lives in Santa Monica, California with her husband, son, and three cats.

Like this:

Like Loading…

15 comments on “Where I Work:  Coffee House Culture”

  1. Jane Odiwe Commented on: July 11, 2011
    Your coffee house looks wonderful, Diana- but I know I wouldn’t get any work done if I went there-I’d be too busy talking!

  2. Jakki L Commented on: July 11, 2011
    I like that you go to a coffee house to work. I think it is wonderful that you, your husband, and son go there together! I have never been one to work (study, write, etc) in my own home. I get too distracted with other things. In college, I would be in a friend’s room or we would be at Starbucks. It sure would have been beneficial to us college students to have a 24 hour coffee shop nearby!  :smile:

  3. Sharon Lathan Commented on: July 11, 2011
    When I first started seriously researching Regency England I was surprised to discover coffee houses. I know this reveals my former ignorance, but with tea so prominently associated with the English I didn’t realize coffee had ever been a part of their culture! Now I know better and in a weird way discovering that the English (then and now) appreciate coffee to the point of having coffee houses long before Starbucks existed established a connection for me.

    I love the history you share with us, Diana. The images are great, those from the past and from more current decades. I love quaint coffee shops. Starbucks is great, don’t get me wrong, but the local non-chain establishments often have a coziness to them that is so appealing.

    Now, speaking of java, where is my espresso? Oh honey……

  4. BeckyC Commented on: July 11, 2011
    Your coffeehouse is awesome!  We have some fun internet cafes here, but nothing like that!  Love it!  I enjoyed your history tie-in with your work space.  Great post!

  5. Kara Louise Commented on: July 11, 2011
    What a fun place to go to work! I don’t think I’d get any work there – I need pretty much solitude (except for my cats, of course!).

  6. Susan Kaye Commented on: July 11, 2011
    Your workspace looks great, Diana. I’d be too distracted by the comings and goings of the other natives to get anything done, but whatever works is the way to go. Besides, I always feel a little guilty ordering tea when I go to coffee places. But I do get to say the immortal line: “Tea, Earl Grey, hot.”

  7. Suzan Commented on: July 11, 2011
    I’m with everyone else for the most part.  I need peace and quiet.  Tho’ I’m sure the conversation could add witty dialogue to something it would be a real challenge to put logical sentences together for any real purpose.  Looks like fun tho’

  8. Monica P Commented on: July 11, 2011
    I don’t like coffee but I love the ambience of coffee houses!

  9. SuzeJA Commented on: July 11, 2011
    Love you coffee house all I got next to me is a barnes and noble…

  10. J. Marie Croft Commented on: July 11, 2011
    Wow, Diana!  Your writing space has way more perks than mine!  I imagine working there  beats the usual daily grind. My day job is in a place called Bedford; and although it’s not a coffee house, we do joke around and have heated and strong discussions.  However, I find it much easier to write bon mots than to espresso them aloud.  I usually think of something witty to say much too latte. Joanne

  11. C. Allyn Pierson Commented on: July 11, 2011
    How strange it is that you look the same in all the photos but the picture in the ’90s has extremely hairy men!  Are you sure that is your spouse under there?

  12. C. Allyn Pierson Commented on: July 11, 2011
    I would never accomplish anything in a coffeehouse- I sometimes have to kick my dogs out of my office for breathing too loud (of course a Newfoundland sigh is rather like the sound of a raging grizzly and he groans everytime he changes position- bless his little (?) vocal heart!).  And then there is my Yorkie who always sleeps at my feet and has started snoring in his old age…

  13. Diana Birchall Commented on: July 12, 2011
    Actually I get more distracted at home, where I see so many things to do everywhere.  At the coffeehouse there’s only one thing to do – work.  I don’t get involved in talking much, because everybody else is working too!  Joanne:  I’ll take my jokes decaffeinated!  Carey:  Yup, husband is a furry bear, like the cats.

  14. JoanneMM Commented on: July 12, 2011
    oh how i wish such a place existed in SoCal!!   :cry:  i wud love a place just like that, all cozy and filled with those spectacular bookshelves, to chill and read my books! i am so jealous haha great post!

  15. Margaret Commented on: July 14, 2011
    I love these photos!  I am a coffee house kind of girl! Speaking of I think I need a coffee!

Leave a comment